Hair growth is a complex biological process that occurs in three stages: anagen, catagen, and telogen.

Anagen: The anagen stage is the growth phase where the hair follicle produces new hair. This stage can last anywhere from two to eight years, and is responsible for about 85% of our hair growth.

Anagen stage

Catagen: The catagen stage is a transition phase where the hair growth slows down and the hair follicle starts to shrink. This stage lasts for about two to four weeks.

catagen stage

Telogen: The telogen stage is the resting phase where the hair follicle is inactive and the hair is shed. This stage lasts for about two to three months.


Normal Shedding Process:

Hair shedding is a natural process, and it’s normal to lose 50 to 100 hairs per day. However, excessive hair loss or sudden changes in hair growth patterns may indicate an underlying problem. Things like a vitamin B or D deficiency can have an affect on the hair, thyroid issues and other things liked to health. Your stylist is not a medical professional so we always recommend talking to a Doctor or a trichologist if you are concerned.

Life Cycle of Hair:

The life cycle of hair varies from person to person, but on average, it takes two to eight years for a hair to grow from the follicle to the end of its life cycle. At that point, the hair falls out, and a new hair begins to grow in its place. This cycle repeats itself continuously throughout a person’s life.

What to Expect:

It’s important to understand that hair growth patterns and life cycles vary from person to person. Some factors that can affect hair growth include genetics, hormonal changes, medical conditions, and lifestyle factors.

If you’re concerned about your hair growth or shedding patterns, it’s always a good idea to talk to your stylist, doctor or a trichologist. They can help determine the underlying cause and provide recommendations for maintaining healthy hair growth.